Crafting Cheaply – UK Craft Websites & Shops

So I’ve started to compile a list of places to buy craft items in the UK. I’ve only added a few to start with, so hopefully I’ll keep adding to them.

Amazon – See my previous post for more details here. You can find all sorts from international sellers. Particularly good for cheap cutting dies and clear rubber stamps. I’ve bought ALL SORTS of craft products from Amazon.

Charity Shops – These are an absolute MUST. I’ve found some fantastic bargains: books of vintage sheet music for 50p, cheap white sheets for printing, a random find of silver clay, a whole box of stamp carving material and a map canvas I bought to paint over (but then hung on my wall). Some charity shops have special sections for craft items, so keep your eyes peeled.

Country View Crafts – They have a wide range of products and brands (great if you are looking for something specific) including Cosmic Shimmer, Tim Holtz and the Distress range. At the time of writing this Distress Ink Pads are a good price, £3.50. It has a sale section. I’ve found it’s particularly good around Christmas time for special offers. There is no delivery charge, so I love that I can just buy something small without having to make it up to £20 etc.

Craftasmic – This website is great for Cosmic Shimmer Products if you want to buy mulitples (as it has multibuy discounts). It also has Distress Inks and Distress Oxides. It does have a sale section, but the items it sells aren’t ones you tend to get massive savings on. Cheapest place I have found so far to buy Distress Oxides – 3 for £15. Delivery is free over £20.

Doughty’s (Fabrics) – I LOVE this website. I have to be careful not to splurge every time I have a look. They have very good sales. Quite a nice range of fabrics generally. Some expensive ones –  generally good for browsing the sale section. UK P&P rates are:

£0 – £14.99 =  £1.89    £15.00-£29.99 = £2.89    £30.00 – £49.99 =  £3.89    £50 – £99.99 =  £4.89

£100+ =  Free

eBay – Never forget eBay. I feel much better about using it now it has a buyers guarantee. I remember ordering something from Japan and it never showed up, even though they said they sent it twice! It put me off ordering again. I’m not sure how the import fees work, I’ve never bought anything I’ve had to pay that for, but I have ordered lots of small things from the East more recently and not had any issues.

Every Crafts A Pound – I’ve spent a small fortune on this website. Not every craft is actually a pound, but there are some really good savings if you are careful what you opt for. P&P Charges for the UK are:
£0.01 – £19.99 – £6.50
£20.00 – £39.99 – £4.99
£40.00 + Free

Fabric Time They have some really good sales. I love the linen look fabric. A good site for vintage/text/quirky fabrics. UK P & P £1.99.

Grafton Crafts – Again free delivery (I hate paying for delivery). They have a large range of products from all different companies. Check out the Clearance section at the bottom of the left hand menu. I’m tempted by the Crafter’s Companion 3D Embossing Folder (Regency Swirls) which is currently £5.99. I’ll get it if I don’t find it cheaper at the craft show I’m going to this weekend!

The Works  – They tend to have more craft stuff online than in store and if you join the newsletter you can regularly save 10-20%. I’ve bought loads of craft items. The dies are great (when they are all in stock). I’ve also bought Santoro items, gesso, general budget art equipment and vintage paper pads.

Wilcox and Cowling – They have some very good sales. Keep your eye on the ‘Special Offers’ section. I bought a load of Promarkers for a very cheap price, literally doubled my collection for about £20! They have traditional art supplies, canvases and paints. They also have crafty items such as stencils and marker pens. Free delivery in the UK for orders over £50, otherwise you will pay £2.95.

I’ll continue my research and add more to this list as and when I try more out. If anyone has used any other websites in the UK or elsewhere and wants me to add places to this list please let me know your experiences! 🙂

NB This information is based on my experience of these websites. Please let me know if your experiences differ.

RFC

2 thoughts on “Crafting Cheaply – UK Craft Websites & Shops

What Do You Think?

