The Craft Shopper’s Dilemma

via Daily Prompt: Local

So…..I have a dilemma. My local craft shop (the only one around that isn’t a big chain) are selling Distress Oxides for 3 for £17. Do I spend £2 more to support them than I would spend online? I feel guilty. There was no one else in there, so I spent around 10 mins chatting to the lady about products etc. I left saying I would be back….I WILL go back and buy something, but it’s against my ‘crafting cheaply’ mantra to spend more than I need to! I guess though I could say if I go back and don’t have the coffee I usually have when in town that I can spend the few extra quid in that shop….and you know….I didn’t have that coffee today 🙂 so if they aren’t ridiculously cheap at the craft show this weekend……I guess I’m getting some from the craft shop!

RFC

3 thoughts on “The Craft Shopper’s Dilemma

  1. Do you have to pay postage on top of the price, for the ones you want to buy on-line? might be your deciding factor.

    Also … you have to wait for the on-line ones to arrive. With the shop ones, you pay and take them home that day! I guess it depends on how much you want them *NOW*.

    LOL… I don’t envy your decision. I know it and can relate. :/
    ~ Cobs. x

    Like

  2. I always try to buy local if I can because it is hard being a small business in a big corporate chain and web world. Our LYS closed because she didn’t get enough local support. I also don’t like to wait for my shipment or pay for shipping! Lol

    Like

    1. Yes, you are right! I often buy from little online companies (I have no idea how little they are actually). I think I will go back in when I’m next in town and buy the 3D embossing folder I want! Good to know other people are thinking the same things!

      Liked by 1 person

What Do You Think?

