Help I need titles for four more pieces!

How does everyone come up with titles for their artwork? I need to name them all by Monday and I’m struggling!!

About rainbowfingeredcrafter

https://rainbowfingeredcrafter.wordpress.com/

Posted on 23/07/2016, in Printmaking & Stamp Carving, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Stop trying. Give yourself break of at least 4 hours, and each time you find your thoughts straying back to the problem MAKE your brain turn around, go back, and choose something else to think about. Then when the time comes to thinking about the names (after the 4+ hours have passed) just took at one item and focus on that. What stands out for you, on that piece?
    A colour?
    The shapes?
    A particular thing on it?

    Anythng. It could be anything. But once you’ve got that ‘thing’, then work with that.

    So let’s say you’d drawn something which had the colour of pink in it which stood out as an eye catcher to you. Take ‘PINK’ and write down things you associate with PINK.
    Pink Panther.
    Pink Eye
    Pink Flamingos
    Pink Roses
    Pink Bubblegum
    Pink Candyfloss
    Pink Teddy Bear
    Pink Ham
    Pink Lemonade
    Pink Lipstick
    Pink Hearts
    Sparkly Pink
    Pink Marshmallows
    Pink Pigs

    As you’re writing (or in this case reading) one of those things might stick out, or just make you think that either you’ve found your title … or it will take you down a road which will make you think in a slghtly different way. e.g. Let’s say your painting/drawing is of a strawberry plant which has some of the little pre-fruit flowers on it, which have that slight pink tinge to the centres (hence the ‘pink’) … thinking of all things pink ..one of the items on your list might make you think in a different way so that (for some reason or another) you instead stop thinking of pink or strawberry and think instead of the colour orange. From there you think about that book/tv drama: Oranges are not the only Fruit. BING BING BING go the bells in your brain, and you decide to call your drawing/painting: Oranges aren’t the only Fruit! (because you’ve drawn a strawberry plant, and …. oranges aren’t the only fruit!)

    Sorry this answer is so long winded. It was the only way I could describe the way I go about it when trying to name something.

    Of course … if in the end you still can’t find a name for one of your pieces, you could always call it: The Unknown Warrior …or The Unknown _________ …..or simply The Unknown, but call it that in Spanish: El desconocido … or French: L’inconnu … German: Das unbekannte …. or Italian: L’ignoto. (But they might like it if you added the translaton in English, perhaps in brackets, after the title).

    But … to sum up: Relax. Take a chill pill. Titles will come to you, but simply focus on one thing at a time. Don’t ‘crop spray’ with your thoughs, instead only ‘go’ for one piece at a time.

    Or, to coin a phrase: ‘USE THE FORCE’, my Rainbow Fingered Crafter. 🙂

    Sending good vibes. Very very good luck with the Art Festival.
    l <3ove ~ Cobs. x

  2. That < 3 was meant to be a heart! tsk tsk. ❤ lol

    • Wow, that was a great comment! Titles are so important aren’t they. You don’t want people to like your work but not like the title. I asked my friends and family what they thought because they see different things in the work to what I do 🙂 I have two titles I would never have come up with myself! I had 2 titles already, so just two more left to come up with! Thanks again for your help! 🙂

  3. I am inspired by mood and coloring. and I like to use a thesaurus lol

  4. Haven’t seen you for aaaages, and have been wondering how you are. Eventually tracked you down on your blog and thought I’d leave a message just to say Hello, and check that everything is fine and groovy in your world.
    hugs ~ Cobs. x

    • Hi Cobs! Things have been crazy my end. I have been planning a house move and I’m starting a new job. BUT…I will be going part-time so I have more time for crafting! Also I want to set up and Etsy shop and I have new lino and screen prints to show you! I’ll need lots of advice and opinions! RFC xx

      • Hello RFCrafter!
        Cooooo, you’re having a very busy time of it!
        Moving house is a big deal, (as I know from our house move 5 years ago), so just take it easy when you get there. Don’t try to do it all in an instant.

        Congratulations on the New Job, and for it being part-time. Lots of time to play in the craft room now! YAY.

        When you open your Etsy shop, remember to put a link in your sidebar so that we can come and find you easily.
        Very good luck with everything!
        Sending squidges ~ Cobs. x

        • Hi Cobs,

          Sadly this is not my first move, I’ve been a bit of a wanderer, it’s been less than two years since I last moved, only I’ve accumulated furniture this time! It took longer to find a house this time too. Still hoping everything works out well in the end.

          Yes I’ll definitely put a link in. It’ll likely take a while to set it up. Do you know anyone who has one?

          RFC

          • The short answer is yes. The long answer is … yes, and I know I’ve clicked on their link … but if you’re asking me who they are, I cannot for the life of me, remember! I know I click on peoples blogs and when I find an Etsy link I will click and take a peep. But my brain doesn’t store information like it used to so I can’t remember who’s blogs have an etsy link.

            Take a look through the blogs you follow… there’s bound to be a handful which have those links. x

What Do You Think?

Lettering by Melody

all things handlettered

A Card Day's Work

cards, crafts, and a little crazy

Heather Telford

cards, colour, paper & paint

Florence Langley

florence and freddie part 2 - the house of cards

Paper Geometry

Paper, Ink, Art

The Tag Lady

Crafty creations using buttons,brown paper and string (amongst other things).

The Contented Crafter

A blog containing random thoughts, bits of life, creations from my art room and tales of a cat named Orlando and a puppy named Siddy

Let's Art Journal

Expressing life through endless creativity in words and pictures

Little house on the coast

From up town urban girl to coastal life wife

Jade Sutton Art

Let your Imagination Run Wild!!!

Patty Radish

Sharing My Handmade Life

Mike Deakin Art

Art Journaling, Mixed Media & Papercrafts

366 Days of Art

2016 is the Year of Art. 366 days. 366 pieces of art. Let's do this.

Starting Over Studio

Each day brings fresh discoveries in mixed-media art--and life.

Dr Nick Knight

Life as a Junior Doctor (www.drnickknight.com)

A Crafting Odyssey

Join me on my crafty journey

